Running lights etc off a battery

Questions, comments, discussions and reviews on equipment, outdoor gear etc.

Running lights etc off a battery

Postby Bomber_WA » Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:45 pm

Hi All,

I am just getting into the camping game and just bought a camper trailer.

We are just going to be going away for 2-3 days max at this stage so I have decided agaist buying a fridge/freezer.

I do however want to run a few lights/phone chargers/laptop etc. Can anyone suggest the best way to do this? Without having a duel battery system in a vehicle....

Can I just get a deep cycle battery and run these things with a sine wave inverter. How would I charge the battery again either at home or out and about???

Cheers
Bomber_WA

Re: Running lights etc off a battery

Postby ben... » Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:52 pm

besides installing a battery in the camper trailer, you could consider these packs http://sidewinder.com.au/page18a.html inverters have there use, however if you want to run a laptop off one, youre best to get a 12v laptop power supply. You can get them from jaycar. Lighting wise you may already have this sorted, but LED or 12v Fluro is the go.
ben...
Post Machine!

Postby Blue Bravo » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:46 pm

For just a couple of lights you might get away with a battery kickstarter. They are charged by plugging into power point at home and running a light will last some days. The more appliances you want to run the more power and storage you need. Then its a slippery slope to dual battery systems, solar panels and generators. :grin:
Glenn
A member of the leisure class
Blue Bravo
Grandpa Talks Alot eh?

Postby Redback » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:10 am