Advice on a tent

Questions, comments, discussions and reviews on equipment, outdoor gear etc.

Advice on a tent

Postby big_johnnny » Fri May 26, 2006 9:59 am

Im currently planning a camping trip from the north coast of NSW back down to Sydney over 3 - 4 weeks.

Im also new to camping and never been before. I have looked on ebay and noticed a few tents for sale. I was interested in the OZTrail Dome Tent 4V PLUS.

Are they any good????

Advice needed
big_johnnny

Postby Cheiffy » Fri May 26, 2006 8:38 pm

I think you would be best off going into a camping store and viewing the product. Ask the salesperson to show you how the tent sets up and what other considerations you may want to think about as well.
I would also suggest you go to one of the older fashioned camping/disposal stores and not the new supermarket styled ones.

Cheers

Cheiffy
Please sir, Can I have some more? Time off that is.

"Hard at it"
Fruit Bat Falls, Cape York
Cheiffy
Captain Camping

Postby Ozzycamperboy » Sat May 27, 2006 12:25 am

Ebay is good to shop around for price comparison, but not for making a descision on a product. Much better to see it in the 'flesh' as chieffy said.

Also, if you are camping or sleeping on your own, have you considered a swag? Much easier to set up - basically just unroll it :lol: - and take up about the same space. Can get a decent one for under 200 with a nice, comfy mattress. I paid $99 for my swag, another $80 for top notch mattress and about $15 on waterproofer agent (spray on stuff) to make it more waterproof. IMO best camping investment evar if your single. I also have a cheapo 2 man tent from a camping disposals store for if I go camping in really cold weather.

EDIT: Just looked at the tent you mentioined on ebay.. I guess your camping with friends/family so swags out :oops: :lol: