Anyone heard of 'Gordigear'?

General Discussion, tips and questions and answer on Camper Trailers. Buy and sell below in Vehicles for Sale.

Anyone heard of 'Gordigear'?

Postby sienna » Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:36 pm

I found this company on ebay and then looked at their website. I've never heard of them but then I'm fairly new to the whole camper trailer thing.
Just wondering if anyone has heard of them and if they are any good. What I am concerned about is where their canvas is made as I have read many posts on here about canvas and the associated pitfalls that can come with it if manufactured os.
All feddback is greatly appreciated.
Thanks
sienna
Grandpa Talks Alot eh?

Re: Anyone heard of 'Gordigear'?

Postby mr_grumble » Sat Oct 24, 2009 5:38 pm

Haven't heard of the manufacturer but I do oun a CT with canvas made in China (Oztrail).

Yes it is lighter than that of some aussie made canvas, and yes it probably will withstand rougher treatment, but I have absolutely no complaints about ours. Has never leaked a drop, has coped a bit of heavy treatment without as much as surface damage.

There are advantages too.....

Weight is significantly reduced and once folded up, is alot less bulky.
If it's economy your looking for, canvas is a good way of reducing costs.

Having siad that though, I'd still reccomend seing it in person for yourself as I'm sure there are good and bad canvas's that come out of China.

Steve
Image Image Image
mr_grumble
Post Machine!

Postby sienna » Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:49 pm

Thanks.
I have been looking at an oztrail camper as an option. I've been told that although the oztrail canvs is made in China, it is to aus specs.
It is really going to come down to cost for me but if that means going secondhand to get a better quality brand then I'll do it.
It is nice to hear from actual owners of ct. Sales reps can tell you heaps but it's much better if they own their own product.
sienna
Grandpa Talks Alot eh?

Postby mr_grumble » Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:21 am