Securing your tent

Looking for some tips or advice on camping or where to camp? Post you questions or comments here. General Camping information.

Securing your tent

Postby awhite » Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:15 pm

Hi all - I am new to camping and will be taking my first trip over Easter.

How do you secure your tent? We will be taking our valuables (camera, money etc) with us everywhere - but what do you do with your chairs, tables, esky etc?

The tourist park we are staying at has swipe cards for car entry, but it seems like anyone can walk around.

Is a lock on the tent just attracting trouble?

Thanks,
Amanda
awhite

Postby RichardLOZ » Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:39 pm

Hi Amanda

Generally you need not worry. Everywhere that we have been we have basically gone out for the day just taking the valuables as you have suggested, leaving everything else there.

You will find that "most" people who are also camping are quite honest and are more likely to watch over your campsite rather than take things from it. You could also ask the people camping near to you if they wouldnt mind keeping an eye opn things while you are out.

Cheers
RichardLOZ

Postby awhite » Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:47 pm

Thanks Richard. No problems on our first trip - we just zipped down the front of the tent each time we went out.
awhite

Postby KerryandWendy » Mon Jan 09, 2006 5:23 pm

When we first started out we did buy a long thin shank padlock and locked the zipper tabs together at the bottom. We still do some places.

We lost a small transistor at West Beach Caravan Park SA. The campers are OK but the local kids could access the park from a beach walkway. Port Maquarie some one stoll a shower bag I left out overnight, and my shaver head was inside so that was a nuisance. Same again gangs of local kids wandering through the Park.