Park Priices

A place to talk about anything well just about anything (this is a family show remember).

Park Priices

Postby bigdave55 » Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:33 pm

Hello all.... I'm only new here but glad I found a site for people with similar interests.

By way of introduction I've been travelling around for many years and include bush camping and caravan/camping parks in my travels.

On a recent trip to Brisbane though, I checked the prices on the net and also in a booklet published by a large holiday park chain. They seemed reasonable and I turned up only to find the price was higher, the difference being the GST added in. This is the only place I've ever visited that did not advertise the GST inclusive price and although it doesn't add up to a lot, it throws out the budget when you are planning.

Am I being pedantic here or is this chain being misleading? I'd be interested in the thoughts of others.

Cheers

Dave
bigdave55

Very relevant point

Postby Activity_Dept » Sun Jul 02, 2006 6:54 pm

This is a very relevant point there Dave and you are not being pedantic. People stay in parks for various reasons but certainly one is because of the value they provide one can’t help but to feel ripped off if it is not the advertised price. :evil:

Let me say it is the biggest issue we have in the camping directory and here is the problem of which we continue to struggle for an answer. We provide a directory of ‘all the parks’ not just Big4, Top Tourist or National Parks etc.

We do this because we are independent from all of them and we think it provides a better service if someone can choose a park based on location, service etc without having to jump from website to website.

For right or wrong this is what we have built in the hope it provides a better online experience for the user but one of the problems is maintaining the information on the park listings. :roll: